About us

The Conference of Religious of Ireland (CORI)

The purpose of the Conference is to serve the leaders and through them the members of Religious Congregations.  It provides a forum where religious can work together in the mission they hold in common.

The Conference of Religious of Ireland (CORI) came about through the amalgamation of the two conferences of men and women in 1983.

To-day it has a membership of 136 Religious Congregations that through its leadership represents in excess of 9,000 men and women religious across the island of Ireland, north and south. As many of these congregations have members across all continents, CORI has the capacity to network across the globe.

The mission of CORI is that of Jesus who was sent into the world and who calls and sends us in turn (John 20:21).

CORI Organisation

The supreme decision making body of the Conference is the Annual General Assembly.

A fifteen-member Executive is elected from among the members at the AGA and hold office for three years and are eligible for a second term.

The President and Vice President are elected from among the Executive.
The current President is Sr. Noelle Corscadden, ibvm. The Vice-President is Fr. Gregory Carroll OP.

Executive Committee  –  2015 /16

Fr. Gregory Carroll OP – President

Sr. Barbara Stafford RLR – Vice President

Br. Cormac Commins FSP
Fr. Richard Purcell OCSO
Fr. Michael Kelleher CSSR
Sr. Vera Magee SM
Sr. Dervilla O’Donnell  MMM
Sr. Peggy Collins RSM
Br. Edmund Garvey CFC
Sr. Geraldine Fitzpatrick SSJG
Sr. Goretti Butler DC
Fr. Marc Whelan CSSp
Sr. Phyllis Behan RSC
Sr. Noreen Shankey SSL
Fr. Joseph McGee MSC



Director General      Fr. Peter Rodgers, ofm cap.
Assistant     Sr. Pat O’Donovan, rsm
Communications    Sr. Thomasina Finn, rsm

CORI serves its members through a general secretariat and directors of  Education, Healthcare, Northern Ireland, Religious Life and also through a number of committees: Communications, Justice and Finance.

Religious Life:  Fr. Pat Rogers, cp

Education:  Sr. Eithne Woulfe ssl

Healthcare:  Sr. Pat O’Donovan, rsm

Justice:  Sr. Sheila Curran rsm

Northern Ireland:  Sr. Rosaleen Murray, cp

Finance Secretary:  Sr. Catharina Tarpey, op.

Secretariat:  Ms. Denise Curran, Ms. Rosaleen Mullan, Br. Colm Griffey

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now